Impulsive

For some reasons, the topic of fluidity and spontaneity has been on my mind this entire week. It also brought to mind a disappointing moment in my life many years ago.

It is only human nature to remember hurtful moments the most and one particular incident when I was a young lad stuck until today. Someone once labelled me as “impulsive” and denied me the opportunity to progress further in an organization I was a part of in high school. He explained that it was an undesirable trait.

Fast forward almost 20 years later, I realized that being impulsive is not a flaw but like any other trait, it can be advantageous. I realized that many of us are procrastinators always looking out for opportunities to delay certain tasks or working towards our goals.

Being impulsive is good when one have the “do it now” attitude. Of course there are times when I looked back and regret some of the impulsive moments but otherwise, I felt a great sense of accomplishment when things turn out well.

Thus far, being impulsive has allowed me to try many things and to react faster during crucial moments especially in situations when decision making is needed in a short time frame.

I like to think that being impulsive afford me the label of being the “crazy ones” just like the quote (below) used by the late Steve Jobs in one of the campaigns. To be able to try new things without the worry of failures (we worry about that later).

Being a “crazy one”, I often look back in life and can proudly say, “I’ve been there and done that. No regrets!”

