Keeping Promises

“If you love me, you will keep my commandments.” ~ John 14:15

It was Thursday morning in the bustling city that is renown for its nightlife. Having breakfast alone before heading out for work, I cannot help but to eavesdrop on the conversation taking place at the next table between a man with German accent and a local lady. In such a setting and based on the contents of the conversation, it is very easy to assume that the lady is a bar girl the man had picked up the night before. Such a scene is very common here and from the many stories I have heard, this place is dubbed as a haven for men looking for some “fun”.

At the same time, I gazed upon my social media feed and came across a comment by a friend on the topic of prenuptial agreement.

The thought of infidelity and prenuptial agreement seemed to have collided on my mind and my thoughts narrowed down to – MARRIAGE.

With some assumptions in the first paragraph, I don’t know how people can “give themselves away” so casually. To be inside of someone or allow someone to enter into such a personal space without commitment seems too careless and negligent to me.

And on the other hand, people considering prenuptial agreement should really pause for a moment and ask themselves:

“Why even begin life together when you already have the “the end” on mind?”

I am opined that one should remain unattached (not bound legally or by contract of marriage) if they prefer to be in a non-committal relationship.

After all these thoughts and gobbling up my breakfast, I headed out to work and paid no mind to the topic anymore until…

The priest in his sermon today spoke about promises and keeping the covenant. As he brought life to the gospel, it begin to dawn on me what I had thought about mid week. In summary, he spoke about how when people keep their promises, they keep their integrity as a trustworthy and dependable person.

It is very interesting for me to personally experience thought provoking situations that later bring about good reflections through the gospel.

Often times, people are hurt due to broken promises, infidelity, unfaithfulness, and betrayal. In order for us to live up to our promises, we really ought to be wise in choosing how we should share our “personal space” and there are some things that should not be casually shared lest breaking the most valuable promises in our lives.

Leave a Reply

