How Can I Help You?

There was a period of time in my life that I was struggling to find my place in this world. Naturally, I turned to self-help books to gain clarity and to find methods in “self discovery”. While I gained many ideas, it wasn’t really easy and straight forward in identifying my purpose as a person.
As I continue to learn and grow in this self discovery journey, I found that taking the queue from the people and events around me helps. The following is part of what I have shared on my social media feed and I thought it would be valuable to elaborate in this post.

“How can I help you today?”

A timeless question and also one we have forgotten because it is always about “ME, MYSELF, and I”.

If you have lost direction and purpose in life, start the day by asking someone this question knowing that….

1. God will not give you something you cannot handle.

For the past few years, I have been assigned with many challenging tasks but I also noticed that they are usually preceded by events that have prepared me with the necessary knowledge and skills needed for the said tasks. Such situations usually caught me off guard and I am often surprised by the impeccable timing. It is unexplainable and cannot be coincidence so I like to believe it is divine.

2. A friend in need is a friend indeed.

I once asked a friend the question – Do you think that a mirror can see itself?

It is only obvious that people around us can sometimes see through us easier than ourselves. Others through their observations will be able to tell us both our strengths and weaknesses. If someone asks for your help, it means he/she knows you have the capabilities and you can be depended upon. By helping, it will bring to light your talents and passion.

3. Accomplishments serve as affirmations that strengthens and increase confidence.

You will get a sense of accomplishment by this opportunity to learn something new. It feels good and purposeful knowing you have helped someone.

When we asked a friend of ours to help take photos at our wedding, he eventually took up photography seriously and now can be considered a pro in taking awesome photos.

4. It is OK to say NO.

While you are encouraged to engage and render your assistance, the initial thought of getting out of your comfort zone and status quo can be overwheming.

Therefore, it is absolutely fine to say “NO” because life gives us choices. The beautiful thing is that you can choose to say yes only when you are absolutely ready to take up the challenge.

5. It gets your “engine” going again.

There are a few quotes that motivates us to get out of our comfort zones. And to share a few that I live by:

“God helps those who help themselves”

Yes, the saints that we all know did not just pray to only plant the seed of thoughts into their minds but, they put into action what they prayed so that the “end game” can be achieved.

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”

And the most recent that I have adopted from my boss:

20161001_121312

 

Even the law of attraction tells us that we must first visualize the end results before we embark on the journey in attaining them.

Another example would be the initial courtship of a couple. If neither the man or the woman initiate and take the first step in confessing his or her feelings to the other, there is no possibility of a marriage and thereafter, a beautiful family.

So when you make the first move, it sets in motion the progress of moving forward

6. Every challenge is an opportunity for growth.

Being challenged to a point of getting us out of our comfort zones and status quo itself can be counted as progress.

As the quote by philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche goes, “That which does not kill us, makes us stronger.”

How can I help you today?

May this piece help you gain some clarity in life…

I hope you enjoyed reading my randomness today.

Leave a Reply

