Growth

The word that comes to mind when I think about growth is SACRIFICE. There will never be growth without sacrifices in terms of time, money, anguish, stress, or other forms of resources.

For one to earn returns, one must invest and it is no exception with growth. You just have to invest the correct resources in order to obtain the returns that you desire.

I may be a year late but I stumbled across a documentary about the famous boy band – the Backstreet Boys entitled “Backstreet Boys: Show ‘Em What You’re Made Of”.

If you’ve grown up in the late 90’s and early 2000s, you would have heard of the Backstreet Boys. Back then, I was a young, dumb, and full of c*m hormone raging teenager. I wanted to be like the Backstreet Boys just so that I can impress the girls just like them.

Already a very productive week for me thus far having had learned quite a few new things throughout the last few days at work, the documentary gave me the opportunity to look at things from a different perspective.

In the documentary, the boys talked about their career and mentioned the good fortune that came their way throughout their lives in the music industry. There were the initial struggle, the peak, and the crash. Then there were the addictions and the struggles in handling the fame.

Then it dawned on me that I have never seen this side of them, the real them. It is just how the world is – always putting up that front and only want you to see its best side. It is very easy for us to be envious in seeing things at face value. Have I not seen the sacrifices and the struggles through this documentary, I was under the impression that the boys had it all easy.

I am sure at one point the boys became so jaded that they totally lost touch with themselves and like everyone around them, exploited themselves and the talents they each possessed that brought them so far from where they were and used to be. How easy it is for talents to be used and abused if we’re not careful.

Through documentary, it made me realized that opportunities will come and go. If we are not wise enough to claim and make good use of the opportunities presented to us, we will lose the chance to grow into our full potential.

What do you think you’ll do if given the opportunity to be like the Backstreet Boys?

I guess that there will always be justifications to do everything our heart desires because of all the sacrifices that has been invested in obtaining such success. We eventually let ourselves “go” and that is usually when the “crash” happens. We see this trend far too often with celebrities.

Honestly, I have a lot of respect for the Backstreet Boys as a group as well as individually after watching the documentary because it showed me that they are humans. The fact that they have learned and grown into their own as individuals, is very inspiring for me.

And what have I learned this week that I thought was fun?

I was randomly surfing the internet for photography tips on Monday and came across the term “the invisible black background” technique. I later put together a Do-It-Yourself setup and took a few photos. The following are some I thought worth sharing.

binky01

binky06

binky05

binky04

binky02

binky03

Leave a Reply

