Gratefulness

Happy Thanksgiving!

So we wished family and friends just this past Thursday.

To be honest I have never experience a true Thanksgiving celebration and the only image that comes to mind is a deliciously roasted turkey.

I have been reading a few articles on self development blogs this past week and gratitude seemed to be the theme. It is true that we indulge ourselves to the point of forgetting how blessed we really are. The materialistic world just sucks us into a zone where we only want more. With the passing of every stressful situation, a retail therapy ensues. Thus, the more we work, the more we find ourselves seeking happiness in splurging more. Eventually, we lose sight of why we are working so hard in the first place – to achieve financial stability.

I am no different because I get caught up in the vicious cycle of making the “wants” my “needs”.

For all that I have, I can only see what I have not. For all the talents I am so blessed with, I crucify myself for all my weaknesses.

No wonder when I asked myself on Thanksgiving Day what am I truly grateful for, I do not seemed to have anything convincing and worth mentioning. That’s because I have taken so many things for granted and most are intangibles – a beautiful family, wonderful friends, and a job that I truly enjoy.

But it is the little things that reminds and teaches me life’s many lessons.

Just after grooming the little dog we adopted a week ago (yes, we adopted a dog recently!), I came to realization that I just gave her a haircut and she looked much better than before. Then it hit me how blessed I am to have the ability to grasp the many concepts and at the same time able to execute them through my body’s many faculties.

Thereafter, my mind revisited the many things that I have done and achieved throughout my life. The list turned out to be endless and I had to snap out of it to continue working on the remaining chores.

At that point, I felt good and a great sense of gratitude filled my soul. I hope that I will always find inspirations in life to remind me of all the blessings God has so gracefully and generously bestowed upon me.

So, what are you thankful for?

binky

Leave a Reply

