It Is Finished

In a blink of an eye, almost 40 days has passed and we will commemorate once again, the crucifixion of Christ. But wait, all I see around me are Easter eggs and bunnies – real or otherwise. I believe it is human nature to gravitate towards the celebratory side of things rather than the mournful side of things. As such, we soon lose sight and focus of the reason we celebrate.

Yes, Easter is meant to be a celebration and to most, it is given more emphasis and importance compared to Christmas. But why?

The celebration of Easter always reminds me of the hardships and toils before the celebration of success in life. Just as every good thing that comes to an end so does suffering.

The story of creation is one of hard work when God used 6 days to create the world and on the 7th day, He took a step back and admired His own creation. There is no beauty and success without first work put into it. This story also reminds us to take time off to appreciate the fruits of our labor.

I am sure all of us have our own tasks and purposes even for a day. We tend to compartmentalize our hours, days, weeks, months, and years into smaller chunks. We learned that in order to complete a project, we should divide it into multiple smaller tasks. Likewise, Jesus have a grand project which is to sacrifice Himself so that we will come to learn of His great love and emulate that in treating our neighbors. If we look closely, Jesus did divide his “project” into smaller tasks whether throughout the 40 days or throughout His life. When His grand “project” was done, Jesus sighed in relief, “It is finished…”.

How often we find ourselves completing a particular task and the feeling of satisfaction kept us hopeful and alive? I am sure you have had such experiences before.

For me personally, I feed on the many “it is finished” moments and they have kept me motivated most of the time.

I think it is important for me to take a step back to review all the great things that I have accomplished and completed throughout the past 40 days and be reminded that these are the reasons I am celebrating Easter.

Most importantly, the question that I will be asking myself this Easter is “Have I Loved My Neighbor As Myself?”

Is It Finished?

040

Leave a Reply

